College Readiness for the High School Class of 2022

FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) is overseen by the U.S. Department of Education, the largest provider of student financial aid in the nation dispersing more than $120 billion in federal grants, loans, and work-study funds annually to more than 13 million students paying for college or career school. The application opens on Oct. 1.

Connecticut College Bound (#CTCollegeBound) is an initiative created through partnership of the Connecticut State Department of Education, the College Board, New Haven Promise, the Connecticut Association of Financial Aid Administrators (CAPFAA), the Connecticut Conference of Independent Colleges, the Connecticut State Colleges & Universities, ECMC The College Place, and the University of Connecticut.

These organizations are joining forces to host several FREE FAFSA workshops for students and their families. There will be more to come on the list below.

Financial aid professionals will be available to help students and families navigate the process of need-based federal aid. Those who sign up will receive a checklist of items that they will need to successfully complete the process. These events are open to high school students across the state. You can download the bilingual FAFSA CT flyer here.

VIRTUAL WORKSHOPS
Wed., Oct. 13 — 6:30 pm — Open to all. (Event completed)
Thurs., Oct. 21 — 6:30 pm — Open to all. (Event completed)
Sat., Nov. 6 — 11 am — Open to all. (Event completed)
Tues., Nov. 9 — 6:30 pm — Open to all. (Event completed)
Wed., Nov. 17 — 6:30 pm — Open to all. (Event completed)
Wed., Dec. 1 — 6 pm — Solo en Español. (Evento Completado)
Wed., Dec. 8 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Tues., Dec. 14 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Tues., Jan. 18 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Wed., Jan. 26 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Sat., Feb. 5 — 11 am — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Tues., Feb. 8 — 6 pm — Solo en Español. (Evento Completado)
Wed., Feb. 16 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Thurs., Mar. 3 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Wed., Mar. 9 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Thurs., Mar. 24 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Wed., Mar. 30 — 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Tues., Apr. 5 – 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Sat., Apr. 9 – 11 am — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Wed., Apr. 13 – 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)
Thur., Apr. 28 – 6 pm — Open to all. (Event Completed)


IN-PERSON WORKSHOPS
Sat., Oct. 16 — 10 am — Norwalk CC East Campus — (Event completed)
Sun., Oct. 24 — 1 pm — Windsor High School (Event completed)
Sat., Oct. 30 — 9 am — Platt High School in Meriden — (Event completed)
Thurs., Jan. 27 — 5:30 pm — Montville High School in Oakdale(Event completed)
Sat., Feb. 12 — 10 am — Griswold High School in Griswold(Event Completed)
Tues., Mar. 1 – 3-5 pm – Wilbur Cross High School in New Haven – (Event Completed)
Wed., Mar. 9 – 3-7 pm – Manchester High School in Manchester – (Event Completed)
Thur., May 26 – 11 am – New Haven Adult & Continuing Education Center – Register here.

Financial aid professionals interested in volunteering can register HERE.


Hosting a FAFSA Workshop? Register Your FAFSA CT Workshop Here!


College Access Events

There are some great online events coming up for students who have specific interests as they relate to college-going and the associated costs, thanks to ECMC The College Place Connecticut and Quinnipiac University. Experienced professionals will be available to guide you and answer questions. Once registered, you will receive a confirmation email with a link to the event. Seniors who attend the workshops with Quinnipiac University will receive an application fee waiver.

Thurs., Oct. 14 — 5 pm — Net Price Calculators: How much will college cost me? (Event completed)
Mon., Oct. 18 — 5 pm — Finding scholarships (Event completed)
Tues., Oct. 26 — 5 pm — FAFSA: Your questions answered! (Event completed)
Thurs., Oct. 28 — 5 pm — After the FAFSA: What happens next? (Event completed)
Thurs., Nov. 4 —  5 pm — Free community college: PACT with special guest: Bernie Shea, Assistant Director of Admissions, Housatonic Community College (Event completed)
Mon., Nov. 8 — 5 pm — FAFSA Demo (Event completed)
Mon., Nov. 8 — 6 pm — College Application 101 (Event completed)
Mon., Nov. 15 — Application Fee Free Day (Event completed)
Tues., Nov. 16 — 6 pm — College Essay Writing Workshop (Event completed)
Mon., Nov. 22 — 5 pm — Scholarship Search Demo (Event completed)
Tues., Nov. 30 — 5 pm — Financial Aid Offers (Event completed)
Wed., Feb. 9 — 5 pm — Scholarships with upcoming deadlines (Event completed)
Tue., Feb. 15 — 5 pm — Student and parent loans (Event completed)
Thu., Feb. 24 — 5 pm — Learning more about your major (Event completed)
Thu., Mar. 24 — 5 pm —  Financial Aid Offer Letters Open to all. (Event Completed)
Thu., Mar. 31 — 5 pm —  Student and Parent Loans Open to all. (Event Completed)

For 9th-11th graders:
Tue., Mar. 15 — 5 pm —  Scholarships for 9th-11th Graders Open to all. (Event Completed)
Tue., Mar. 22 — 5 pm —  9th-11th Grade Checklists Open to all. (Event Completed)
Tue., Mar. 29 — 5 pm —  Exploring CT State Colleges Open to all. (Event Completed)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s